The College is established and run by Mar Athanasius College Association, a registered charitable society. Starting with a modest intake of 120 students in Civil, Electrical, and Mechanical Engineering branches in 1961, new disciplines were added later on. Department of Electronics and Communication was instituted in 1985. The Department of Computer Science and Engineering began in 1990 with an intake of 40 students each. The College has witnessed phenomenal growth and has today about 2500 students on its rolls studying in various Departments. The intake of students has been increased from 40 to 100 each and then to 120 each in Civil, Mechanical, Electrical and Electronics, and Electronics and Communication disciplines and from 40 to 60 in Computer Science and Engineering. UG programme in Computer Science and Engineering (Data Science) with an intake of 60 was started in 2020 and in 2022, UG programme in Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning was commenced with 60 seats. A part-time course leading to Post Graduate Degree in Computer Applications (PGDCA) commenced in 1989, which later developed into Master of Computer Applications (MCA) in 2000.

The M.Tech program in Computer-Aided Structural Engineering under Civil Engineering Department and Production and Industrial Engineering under Mechanical Engineering was started in 2004 with 18 students each. M.Tech program in Power Electronics under the Electrical and Electronics Department with an intake of 18 students started in 2011. M.Tech program in Structural Engineering and Construction Management under Civil Engineering Department and VLSI and Embedded Systems under Electronics and Communications Department with an intake of 24 students was started in 2012. M.Tech programs in Thermal Power Engineering under Mechanical Engineering Department and Computer Science & Engineering under Computer Department with an intake of 24 was started in 2013.

The UG Programs in Civil Engineering and Electrical and Electronics Engineering were NBA accredited initially for three years from 30th November, 2002 and presently accredited from 1st July, 2015 to 30th June, 2025.
The UG Programs in Mechanical Engineering was NBA accredited initially for five years from 30th November, 2002 and presently accredited from 1st July, 2015 to 30th June, 2025.
The UG Programs in Electronics and Communication Engineering and Computer Science and Engineering are NBA accredited from 1st July, 2019 to 30th June, 2025.

Mar Athanasius College of Engineering Succession List of Principals

  • Prof. O. A Mathew - BSc, BSc (Engg), MSc (Engg), AMIE (1961 - 1964)
  • Prof. P. C Eapen - BSc (Engg), MIE (1964 - 1969)
  • Prof. E. Kurian Mathew - MSc (Engg), AMIE (1970 - 1974)
  • Prof. T. C George - B.A, BSc (Engg), MSc, MIE (1974 - 1976)
  • Prof. V. K. M John - BSc (Engg), MSc (Engg)
  • Dr. J. Issac - BSc (Engg), M.Tech, Ph.D. (1987 - 2000)
  • Dr. Paul K. Mathew - BSc (Engg), M.Tech, Ph.D. (2003 - 2007)
  • Dr. George Issac - M.Tech, Ph.D. (2007 - 2015)
  • Dr. Soosan George - M.Tech, Ph.D. (2015 - 2018)
  • Dr. Solly George - M.Tech, Ph.D. (2018 - 2019)
  • Dr. Mathew K - M.Tech, Ph.D. (2019 - 2022)
  • Dr. Bos Mathew Jos - M.Tech, Ph.D. (2022 - Present)